The first session of the 110th General Assembly adjourned on May 10, 2017.  The adjournment was roughly three weeks later than initially anticipated, largely due to negotiations surrounding the Governor’s IMPROVE Act.  Overall, it was a very positive session for the University of Tennessee System. For the second year in a row, the higher education … Continued

State Issues

One week after passing the Senate Finance Ways and Means Committee, the Governor’s Focus on College and University Success (FOCUS) Act was passed on the Senate floor Monday afternoon on a 31-1 vote. This was the FOCUS Act’s final step before being brought to the Governor’s desk after passing the House floor last week with a … Continued

Higher Education Reform