Committee Appointments for the 109th General Assembly

Category: State Issues

On Saturday, January 17, 2015, lawmakers convened to inaugurate incumbent Governor Bill Haslam and confirm committee assignments for the 109th General Assembly.

The House Education Committee has been divided into two separate committees—the shift due in part to the high volume of legislation that the former Education Committee considered in each session.  The change is an effort to help streamline the legislative process and increase efficiency.

One of the first major hurdles any legislation must clear is passage in committee.  Clearly, the makeup of a committee could play heavily in the development and progression of new policies.

The University of Tennessee most frequently interacts with the Education and Finance Committees.  Thus, those appointments for the 109th General Assembly are listed below.

Senate- Finance, Ways and Means
Senator Randy McNally (R-Oak Ridge) was reappointed as Chairman of the Finance, Ways and Means Committee, as were the first and second Vice-Chairmen, Senators Bo Watson (R-Hixson) and Doug Overbey (R-Maryville), respectively. Other committee members include:

Sen. Steven Dickerson (R-Nashville)
Sen. Ferrell Haile (R-Gallatin)
Sen. Thelma Harper (D-Nashville)
Sen. Joey Hensley (R-Hohenwald)
Sen. Bill Ketron (R-Murfreesboro)
Sen. Mark Norris (R-Collierville)
Sen. John Stevens (R-Huntingdon)
Sen. Reginald Tate (D-Memphis)

Senate- Education
Senator Dolores Gresham (R-Somerville) was reappointed as Chair of the Senate Education Committee.  Senators Reginald Tate (D-Memphis) and Todd Gardenhire (R-Chattanooga) will serve as first and second Vice-Chairmen, respectively.  The other members of the Senate Education Committee include:

Sen. Rusty Crowe (R-Johnson City)
Sen. Steven Dickerson (R-Nashville)
Sen. Brian Kelsey (R-Germantown)
Sen. Jim Tracy (R-Shelbyville)
Sen. Ferrell Haile (R-Gallatin)
Sen. Joey Hensley (R-Hohenwald)

House- Finance, Ways and Means
Representative Charles Sargent (R-Franklin) was reappointed to lead the House Finance, Ways and Means Committee. Representative David Alexander (R-Winchester) was reappointed as Vice-Chair. Other members of the committee include:

Rep. Joe Armstrong (D-Knoxville)
Rep. Kevin Brooks (R-Cleveland)
Rep. Karen D. Camper (D-Memphis)
Rep. Mike Carter (R-Ooltewah)
Rep. Barbara Ward Cooper (D-Memphis)
Rep. Bill Dunn (R-Knoxville)
Rep. Craig Fitzhugh (D-Ripley)
Rep. Brenda Gilmore (D-Nashville)
Rep. Mike Harrison (R-Rogersville)
Rep. David B. Hawk (R-Greeneville)
Rep. Ryan A. Haynes (R-Knoxville)
Rep. Patsy Hazlewood (R-Signal Mountain)
Rep. Matthew Hill (R-Jonesborough)
Rep. Curtis Johnson (R-Clarksville)
Rep. Susan Lynn (R-Mount Juliet)
Rep. Gerald McCormick (R-Chattanooga)
Rep. Steve McDaniel (R-Parkers Crossroads)
Rep. Steve McManus (R-Cordova)
Rep. Larry Miller (D-Memphis)
Rep. Bo Mitchell (D-Nashville)
Rep. Curry Todd (R-Collierville)

House- Education, Administration and Planning
Representative Harry Brooks (R-Knoxville), formerly Chair of the House Education Committee, was named the Chair of the inaugural Education Administration and Planning Committee. Representative Debra Moody (R-Covington) will serve as vice chair. The other members of the new committee include:

Rep. Kevin Brooks (R-Cleveland)
Rep. Kent Calfee (R-Kingston)
Rep. Jim Coley (R-Bartlett)
Rep. John J. DeBerry (D-Memphis)
Rep. Kevin Dunlap (D-Rock Island)
Rep. Craig Fitzhugh (R-Ripley)
Rep. Eddie Smith (R-Knoxville)
Rep. Johnnie Turner (D-Memphis)
Rep. Dawn White (R-Murfreesboro)
Rep. Mark White (R-Memphis)
Rep. Rick Womick (R-Rockvale)

House- Education, Instruction and Programs
Representative John Forgety (R-Athens), formerly Vice-Chair of the Education Committee, was named the Chair of the Education Instruction and Programs Committee. Representative Billy Spivey (R-Lewisburg) will serve as Vice-Chair. Additional committee members include:

Rep. Raumesh Akbari (D-Memphis)
Rep. Harry Brooks (R-Knoxville)
Rep. Sheila Butt (R-Columbia)
Rep. David Byrd (R-Waynesboro)
Rep. Bill Dunn (R-Knoxville)
Rep. Roger Kane (R-Knoxville)
Rep. Sabi ‘Doc’ Kumar (R-Springfield)
Rep. Ron Lollar (R-Bartlett)
Rep. Harold M. Love, Jr. (D-Nashville)
Rep. Joe Pitts (D-Clarksville)
Rep. Joe Towns (D- Memphis)
Rep. Ryan Williams (R-Cookeville)

For a full listing of House or Senate committees, please click on the appropriate link.

Tags: ,