Two UT Alumni Begin Terms in State House

Category: State Issues

UT Advocacy Logo

Two new Representatives who are alumni of the University of Tennessee began their terms today, as lawmakers reconvened for the second session of the 109th General Assembly.

Gary Hicks, Jr. (R-Rogersville) will replace Chairman Mike Harrison in House District 9. Chairman Harrison left office in late 2015 to become Executive Director of the Tennessee Association of County Mayors. Hicks served as a longtime Hawkins County Commissioner who previously chaired the Commission’s Budget and Personnel Committees. He is an alumnus of UT Knoxville’s Master of Business Administration Program.

Jamie Jenkins (R-Somerville) will replace Representative Leigh Wilburn in District 94, who resigned in late 2015. Jenkins is an alumnus of both UT Martin and UT Knoxville. He is a retired UT Agricultural Extension Agent and has formerly served as both Fayette County Republican Party Chairman and Administrator of Elections.

Tags: , ,