Incumbents Win Big in State Primaries

Category: Elections

American Flag

After lagging statewide voter turnout, the unofficial results are in for the state’s Primary Election. Overall, most incumbents won their primary challenges and only two incumbents were unseated, both in the House of Representatives. Representative Jeremy Durham (R-Franklin) lost to challenger Sam Whitson, who is a retired Army colonel and graduate of Middle Tennessee State University. Whitson will now face Democrat Holly McCall in November’s General Election.

Representative Curry Todd (R-Memphis) also lost his primary re-election bid to businessman Mark Lovell. Lovell faces no General Election opponent.

All Senate incumbents won their primaries, including Senate Education Chair Dolores Gresham (R-Somerville), who defeated Savannah Mayor Bob Shutt. Gresham has no democratic opponent in the General.

Congressional incumbents mostly took home sweeping victories. In the one open Congressional seat (the Eighth District), Republican David Kustoff won the primary, defeating candidates Brad Greer, Dr. George Flinn, Tom Leatherwood, Shelby County Mayor Mark Luttrell, and Senator Brian Kelsey. Kelsey will retain his seat in the State Senate, as his district was not up for election this cycle. Kustoff will face Democratic challenger Rickey Hobson in the General.

For a full roundup of election results, click here.

Tags: , , ,