Senate, House Committee Assignments Made

House Speaker Beth Harwell (R-Nashville) and Lieutenant Governor Ron Ramsey (R-Blountville) announced committee assignments for the 108th General Assembly this morning. In the Senate, Senator Dolores Gresham (R-Somerville) was reappointed as Education Chairman.  Senators Reggie Tate (D-Memphis) and Steve Dickerson (R-Nashville) were named first and second Vice-Chairmen, respectively.  Other members of the Senate Education Committee … Continued

State Issues

Opening Day

UT President Joe DiPietro engaged a number of state lawmakers today, the opening day of the 108th Tennessee General Assembly.  The President makes numerous visits to the State Capitol during the legislative session each year to ensure that the University plays a leading, active role in policy discussions impacting the University of Tennessee System and … Continued

State Issues

A Look at the Issues for 2013

Today officially marks the start of a new legislative session in Tennessee.  The first items up for consideration will be organizational in nature—committee assignments, the selection of committee chairs, and the consideration of newly proposed rules in the House of Representatives.  The rules, proposed by House Speaker Beth Harwell, impact several organizational areas.  Perhaps the … Continued

State Issues

Higher Education Governance: Not the Focus of the Haslam Administration This Year

After a series of discussions on higher education and workforce development with business and community leaders, elected officials, educators and administrators, the Haslam Administration announced yesterday evening that they will not be seeking legislation to alter the structure of higher education governance this year. The Governor stated that his administration had nothing major in terms … Continued

Administration & Governance

Yesterday, the University of Tennessee joined hundreds of law enforcement and health professionals from across the state at the first ever statewide public safety forum. Joining Governor Haslam were Commissioners Dreyzehner (TN Department of Health), Gibbons (TN Department of Safety & Homeland Security), Varney (TN Department of Mental Health), Schofield (TN Department of Correction), and Hagerty … Continued

Health Sciences