The 112th Tennessee General Assembly completed its first week of legislative business Friday. The first week was mostly organizational, with both chambers voting on leadership and announcing committee appointments. There was also a joint convention of the General Assembly to approve the new terms for the constitutional officers, Secretary of State Tre Hargett, Treasurer David … Continued

Administration & Governance

Committee Appointments for the 109th General Assembly

On Saturday, January 17, 2015, lawmakers convened to inaugurate incumbent Governor Bill Haslam and confirm committee assignments for the 109th General Assembly. The House Education Committee has been divided into two separate committees—the shift due in part to the high volume of legislation that the former Education Committee considered in each session.  The change is … Continued

State Issues

Senate, House Committee Assignments Made

House Speaker Beth Harwell (R-Nashville) and Lieutenant Governor Ron Ramsey (R-Blountville) announced committee assignments for the 108th General Assembly this morning. In the Senate, Senator Dolores Gresham (R-Somerville) was reappointed as Education Chairman.  Senators Reggie Tate (D-Memphis) and Steve Dickerson (R-Nashville) were named first and second Vice-Chairmen, respectively.  Other members of the Senate Education Committee … Continued

State Issues